Colourful versions

I tried some colours using colours of wax print textiles as inspiration. I chose to use quite striking combinations that would perhaps not be considered harmonious or even pleasing in the western context. Mostly I chose to use slightly muted colours to resemble colours of the classic Vlisco textiles. Some other modern wax print textiles sometimes have more vibrant colours. I might continue with the colours a little more.

These are also the kind of colour combinations that I associate with African textiles. It’s also a shared impression that Africa is full of colour. When I first time travelled to Ghana as a student, I was asked by my teacher wether I was inspired by the colours there. I felt I should say I was but I really wasn’t. All those colours were beautiful but difficult to implement in design. Finally after many years I have found a way to utilise these colours.

 

Leave a comment