Dining

African Restaurant

I wanted to depict an everyday topic from my own experience. I got the idea in bed one evening but did not have time to draw until 3 day s later due to my son’s flue.

I tried to remember the scenery in my work place’s canteen. Middle class people eating fufu. I miss fufu…

I’m drawing this on sofa. We are watching election result discussions from Joy TV online. I have just eaten cheese and Christmas cookies, which is food I would not have in Ghana.

My child is drawing on my notebook as well- I let him do that because he is recovering from  illness and has been crying a lot.

I’m not happy with the technical outcome but the idea seems good. Actually never ming the technique, ideas are all that I focus on now.

17dec16_1.jpeg

I tried a close up version of the dining situation. It ended up being so unrealistic, like she is posing for a camera.

I feel this topic is free from bias. It’s on a safe zone unlike the power theme and the dance theme.

But maybe to bring my characters to life I should use real people as models.

17dec16_2.jpeg

Leave a comment